The 35th SMB-SAC Cebu Sports Awards

This Tuesday (March 7) from 2 to 5 p.m. will be “The Oscars” of Cebu sports. And while the Academy Awards was held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, ours will be at the North Wing of the SM City Cebu. It’s that once-a-year gathering of Cebu’s best… and you’re invited! These awards used to be held inside the exclusive confines of Casino Español and GrandCon. Not anymore. The sportswriters — the women and men who write stories on these back pages — decided to “open” the awarding by holding it in SM City. It’s free. You get to see June Mar or “Ahas” or Mary Joy or Jonel Borromeo, the Motorace CEO who is our Presidential Awardee.

Michael Jerome Templado Limpag, SunStar’s sports editor, is the SAC president. Together with Girlie Garces, one of San Miguel Brewery’s top executives, Mike will be leading our group in honoring the year’s top personalities.

Who is the Athlete of the Year? I know the answer but I can’t reveal it here. That secret will be proclaimed on Tuesday. The Sportsman of the Year? His name (okay, that’s a clue) will be announced soon and I guarantee you that, of our nation’s 100 million Pinoys, he’s one of the most respected of sportsmen.

Here is the complete list. If you’re one of the awardees, see you on Tuesday!

MAJOR: Donnie Nietes, Joy Tabal, June Mar Fajardo, Samantha Limos, Rogelio Miguel Tremedal, Johnreil Casimero, Marlon Tapales, Milan Melindo, Josephine Teria, Jerish Velarde, Weiwei Gao, LJ Go, Niel Francis Palomares, Kiyomi Watanabe, Rafael Vidal, Khazart William Romoff, Rheyjey Ortueste, Paul Jumamil, Gretchel Soltones and Glen Lava.

CITATION: World Eskrima Kali Arnis Federation, John Marvin Rafols, Rick Angelo Sotto, Mart Chan Torregasa, Seth Abram Pilapil, Khalin Alex Abella, Rogelio Miguel Tremedal, Lloyd Adlawan, Alex Sebastian Blanco, Tricia Merced Opon, Elloise Marie Canillo, Punta Princesa batted sports team, UV Green Lancers, SHS-AdC Magis Eagles, Rey Suerte, Jed Colonia, Cebu City’s basketball team in Batang Pinoy, Joshua Flores, Jayvee Bahio, Joshua Sinclair, Paul Desiderio, Florence Jil Talas, Darlienne Ragasajo, Tracy Carl Dadang, Perlas Pilipinas, Allana Lim, Jack Tepora, Kenny Demecillo, Mark Magsayo, Neil John Tabanao, Jason Pagara, Jimmy Paypa, Jessie Espinas, Arthur Villanueva, Eduardo Gimenez Jr., Alphecca Gonzales, Chris Aldritz Pondoyo, Jun Duron, Alexandrea Gumilao, Joaquin Buyco, Trevor Lood, Joaquin Suarez, Pietre Dakay, Marcel Ivan Ouano, Jesse Semblante, Leo Maquiling, Valentino Calvo, Major Dean Ebarle, Lorenzo Genco, Julian Miranda, Jordan Jarvis, Kintaro Miyagi, Vincent Erik Lovitos, Raphael Clifford de Guzman, Lorenz Giuseppe Genco, Nicholas Christan Villacin, Lois Kaye Go, and Junia Gabasa. Lianne Maning, Jisha Zhyra Azur, Justin Ayra Azur, Dino Singson Jr., Janine Narboada, Jeremy Nopre, Gerald Baclaan, Felix Calipusan Jr, Precious Avegail Belicario, DJ Mae Dente, Nicholas Avila, Joseph Casquejo, Aubrey Codilla, ER Khimlord Labura, Kim Andrei Makiling, Ken Caniga, Noel Tillor, Lady Dragons, Atty. Ingemar Macarine, Andrew Kim Remolino, Karen Mae Andaya, Johann Matthew Tubesa, Jawad Cup organizers, Henze Dominique Lucero, Mary Daniese Adolfo Saether, Jan Godfrey Seno, Team Cebu City boys and girls tennis teams, Zethley Mae Alferez, Alyssa Mae Bornia, Jana Pages, Katherine Yu, Moira Frances Erediano, Karen Andrea Manayon, Jorry Ycong, Isa Molde, Fernando Agad Jr, Evangelito Dale Ceniza, Jeofrey Frasco Jr., Dino Singson, John Vincent Villa, Elwin Retanal, John Renee Mier, Ica Maximo, Dancesport Team Cebu City, Daniel dela Pisa, Kyla Sylverio, Kim Paller, Luis Drei Candia, Dartspeed Eslao, Raven Faith Alcoseba, Gudmoto B8, John Rex Tongco, Arthur Craig Pantino, Tabuelan 111 organizers, Rafael Trinidad, Team Cebu-Toyota Vios and Jette Calderon.

John Pages

By John Pages

I've been a sports columnist since 1994. First, in The Freeman newspaper under "Tennis Is My Game." Then, starting in 2003, with Sun.Star Cebu under the name "Match Point." Happy reading!


  1. Gents,

    Good day it is just a more than month ago now i just read this Sportwriters Association of Cebu Blog and one of the CITATION awardee my son name Rick Angelo Sotto I just want to clarify if he has a certificate and where he got get this.

    Kindly send to my email regarding the information.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *