The 31st SAC-SMB Cebu Sports Awards

Each month of March, our group of columnists, writers and editors on these back pages — the Sportswriters Association of Cebu (SAC) — gather to honor the year’s top sports performers.

Who will be the Athlete of the Year? Who will be our guest of honor? In previous years, we had Antonio Lopez Aldeguer, Manny Pacquiao and Dondon Hontiveros. Who will be this year’s inspirational speaker?

Sportsman of the Year? Who will be this solitary man (or woman) who will receive the highest honor this 2013?

Although I sit as president of SAC, these answers — for now — are confidential. In the next days and weeks, we will slowly announce the full list (plus the full details: date, venue, etc.). But, today, I am ready to present to you our Major Awardees and Citation Awardees.

All of these individuals, teams and organizations have excelled in the 12 months of 2012. They’ve worked the hardest. They’ve sweated buckets. They’ve won gold. They are the most outstanding sports for last year…

MAJOR AWARDEES. (athletics) Daniel Noval, (arnis) Trixie Mary Lofranco, Reynaldo Combate, (basketball), Jerie Pingoy, June Mar Fajardo, (beach volleyball), Jonrey Sasing, Edward Ybañez, (boxing), Johnriel Casimero, Donnie Nietes, Michael Aldeguer, (chess), Enrico Sevillano, (cycling), John Mier, (dancesport), Mae Lozada , (football), Don Bosco elementary team, Cebu Football Association, (golf) Cebu Country Club, Gio Gandionco (gymnastics). Carmelli Garrovillo, (mixed-martial arts), Victor Cui, (running), Mary Grace delos Santos, (swimming), Bea Riza Roble, (table tennis), Dannel Jay Tormis, Stephen Jaca, (taekwondo), Mikeala Calamba, (triathlon/duathlon), Justin Chiongbian.

CITATION AWARDEES. (athletics) Lorna Olarita, USPF Athletics team, (autocross), David G. Lim Jr., Jess Garcia, Derek Arculli, (badminton), SWU high school team, USJ-R men’s team, UC Women’s Doubles (Jessa Mae Lagat, Irish Mae Ares), (baseball), Cebu Dolphins, (basketball), SWU Cobras, Sacred Heart School-AdC, UV U-16 team, Hernal Escocio, Dawn Hynric Ochea, UV – Under-16 team, Arnie Christian Padilla, Felixberto Jaboneta IV, Gregory Slaughter, (beach volleyball), UV’s Jade Becaldo and Mike Abria, (billiards), Warren Kiamco, (bodybuilding) Dondon Cardona, Dennis Nichol Delgado, (boxing), Genesis Servania, Romnick Magos, Jason Pagara, Milan Melindo, Rocky Fuentes, Rey “Boom-Boom” Bautista, Merlito Sabillo, Arthur Villanueva, (chess), Allan Pason, Kyle Sevilleno, Vic Glyzen Derotas, Cepca, (dancesport), Dancesports Team Cebu City, Wilbert Aunzo and Pearl Marie Cañeda, (football), Sacred Heart School High School, Aranxa Trebol, Eddie Alivio, Little Azkals, Cheska Toledo, Patrick Reichelt, Ray Jonsson, Oliver Colina, Glenn Ramos, Paolo Pascual, USC college team, (golf) Cebu Country Club Ladies team, (gymnastics) Mikaela Silverio, (judo), Joaquin Fernandez, (karting), Juan Antonio Carcel, (mixed-martial arts), Cary Bullos, YawYan Ardigma, (motocross), Pepo Rubi, BJ Pepito, (mountainbike), Zandro Fajardo, (running), Mary Joy Tabal, Merlita Dunkin, John Philip Duenas, (rugby) Cebu Lady Dragons, (sepak Takraw), Rhey Jay Ortouste, (softball), Abellana National School, Salazar Colleges of Science and Institute of Technology, (swimming), Anthony Linn Navarro, (speedskating), Zach Sanchez Araneta, (table tennis), Jerny Kaye Pepito, (taekwondo), Tony del Prado, Team Cebu City, (tennis), Kara Salimbangon, Jana Pages, Jan Godfrey Seno, (triathlon/Duathlon),Elmer Clarabal, Rochelle Tan, Mendel Lopez, Yuan Chiongbian,. Francesca Villaba, (underbone), Team Suzuki-BMR, Anacleto “Insik” Flores, (volleyball), USC men and women’s teams, USJ-R boys and girls teams, SWU V-League champions,. SWU national Prisaa champs, Catmon Central School, Jusabelle Brillo, Raphril Aguilar.

John Pages

By John Pages

I've been a sports columnist since 1994. First, in The Freeman newspaper under "Tennis Is My Game." Then, starting in 2003, with Sun.Star Cebu under the name "Match Point." Happy reading!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *